My CO-1686: Year Two Opened With a Bang!

My CO-1686 Clinical Trials One-Year Anniversary celebration rocked the whole month of March. The Inspire Party Bus rolled in twice. The rowdy riders sang and danced wildly, bottles of drink in hand. Unfortunately, I had to refuse their clamor for my pole dancing. Hey, I was a proper host who had to keep decorum. Speech! Speech! They chanted in unison as they banged the sides of the bus. I obliged. I bragged about my blog having been nominated for “A Lovely Blog Award” by fellow warriors/fun writers Dann Wonser http://www.dannwonser.com and Craig Blower https://craigblower.wordpress.com. A thunderous applause followed. Then at last the party ended. I bravely faced the must-do stuff: bags of trash to take out, chairs to stack, and a keg of beer to chug-a-lug.

No sooner had Year-One Celebration moved out to Memory Lane, did Year Two start with a bang. I had a UTI – urinary tract infection! It was my third UTI event since starting CO-1686 and my nth since time immemorial. This UTI is not related to cancer or CO-1686 but because I’ll refer to a previous post, I must share the story with those who give a damn.

UTI is common among women – a fact that hacks me off because I already paid my dues in society. I believe senior babes, especially those with lung cancer, should already be exempt from UTI, cold, and gas. But things have never been easy for me. It was just dumb luck that this recent UTI occurred days before my three-week blood-test schedule. It gave me ample opportunity to ask the Onc to include a urine test in the technician’s work order. Consequently, our visit included the urinalysis discussion.

“White blood cells are present in your urine,” announced the Onc, his voice dripping with concern.

“Uh-oh! We have an infection – a UTI,” I said nodding, enhancing my body language with an air of authority.

“Who is your primary care physician?”

“You are.” I flashed my modified Mona Lisa smile.

I love it when the Onc doesn’t argue with me. He said he will have the specimen cultured. “If the culture shows an infection,” he said, “I’ll phone in the antibiotic prescription to your pharmacist.”

I’ve seen urine culture reports. They show the cause of infection: virus, bacteria, or fungus. They show names of antibiotics that can eradicate the cause. They also provide names of antibiotics that are resistant to the culprit.

The culprit of the UTI under discussion now turned out to be e. coli – the same bacteria that hit national news when a bunch of Americans who had waddled from one end of salad bars to the other got deathly ill, resulting in the recall of a certain brand of organic spinach.

Some antibiotics have developed resistance. A big part of the blame, so I’ve read, is that as soon as some patients felt better after the second day of taking the antibiotic, they quit the week or so regimen. That would include me among those who made that adversarial contribution to the field of medicine. I’m hoping my selfless participation in the CO-1686 clinical trials will atone for our sins to mankind, you antibiotic regimen quitters you!

So my primary care physician by proclamation prescribed a seven-day regimen of a sulfa drug to fight the UTI. The last time I took sulfa drug was when I was a little girl living in squalor in Manila. It was the medicine of the day for any body part that ached – tooth, stomach, head. I figured this time, taking the pills one in the morning and one in the afternoon for seven days would be a breeze. Was I in for an unpleasant surprise! After the second day of ingesting the antibiotics, I felt like caca and it showed. It affected the other half of the population of the house. He missed the belly laugh. He suggested that I ask the doctor for a different antibiotic, but I told him it’s not in me to do that. I like to push myself and boasted that I was the recalcitrant kid who fought and beat seafood allergies. I said I could do seven days of feeling like caca. Easy.

I revisited Google University and audited courses on the modern-day sulfa antibiotic. I learned that this antibiotic’s modus operandi in fighting infection is by inhibiting the production of a certain body acid, which is too complicated to translate. One thing is clear: the human body is an awesome machine when in normal form. Remove a certain acid from it and a chemical imbalance happens to the human being.

I hung in there for the seven-day duration. Every day, I counted down…three more days…two..then one. The drug cleared up the infection but turned my system upside down. Eating became a challenge during the seven days and two days afterwards. My face dangled over the commode around meal times. My glucose numbers shot up. “Eat or perish!” my inner nutritionist admonished.

Medical marijuana to the rescue! My friend Goody Two Drops and I hadn’t said hello since December 23rd, 2014. It was time for a reunion. I retrieved Goody Two Drops from the refrigerator’s inner sanctum where it had sat with the anti-nausea cola syrup untouched for three months. I read the tincture dosing instructions again. The drops landed gently under my tongue. My head buzzed a little. In time my appetite roared back to life. Amazing stuff my buddy Goody Two Drops, which got me to thinking that horticulture, the science of cultivating a garden, orchard, or medicinal plants, might be a profitable hobby for me to pursue as my age careens towards one hundred.

At the end of the sulfa antibiotic seven-day regimen, I stopped taking all – I mean ALL medication – for three days. It was kind of a vacation, a wash-out for my body from the relentless assault of chemicals.

A week into Cycle 17 of my CO-1686, I noticed my blood glucose had mysteriously returned to normal. I had to stop Metformin. I guess the human body, like a computer, can be rebooted! I have no other explanation.

Bottom line:
(a) The UTI resolved.
(b) My blood glucose is normal again.
(c) 2000mg Metformin is out of my CO-1686 clinical trial regimen, unless high blood glucose returns as mysteriously as it had disappeared.
(d) The first blood tests of my CO-1686 Trial Year Two yielded satisfactory results.
(e) I feel great.
(f) Goody Two Drops is in hibernation again in the refrigerator for future reactivation if necessary.
(g) This Tarceva Diva alias Tiger X (as in Ex) Kitten, has been fortunate indeed. So far.

22 thoughts on “My CO-1686: Year Two Opened With a Bang!

  1. As usual great post. I haven’t had UTI since taking probiotic. Hey come back here, I miss my diva friend.

      1. I keep my self occupied,4 x/wk zumba, weights and walking. Taking pottery class, mosaic and will have classes for stained glass .Spending my retirement check to all my projects. hahaha

  2. My husband started the trial in February of this year, sugar spiked really high. Lost appetite and feels nauseated !!! Love reading your posts!!!!!! You give us both a lot of hope! THANK YOU!!!!

    1. Hi Tessie and Santy,
      I’m glad you enjoy this blog. Followers say it gives hope and laughter. That was the plan! Please feel free to ask any questions if you think I might have the answer.
      Celia

      1. Hi! Sorry to bother! I was just wondering if your magnesium has ever dropped below 1.6, my husband is having issues, keeps going up and down, again thanks!!!! Praying that Clovis CO 1686 keeps working for everyone!!

      2. Dear Pichi,
        Thank you for asking the question. Others will learn also.
        My magnesium fell below normal but not below 1.6. As a matter of fact all the time I’ve been on the Clovis trial, that was the only other time that one of the blood elements caused a concern. The other concern which also eventually resolved was glucose.
        I believe the low magnesium happened when Metformin caused me to lose my appetite totally. I could not eat. My magnesium was affected by the lack of food.
        The trial nurse offered magnesium supplement but I said no, I’d rather do it through nutrition. By this time my appetite had already roared back! Go to my blog archives and read the other posts, if you want. To make up the magnesium deficit, I loaded up on leafy greens: kale, spinach, etc. My magnesium reading went back to normal at the following bloodletting session.
        I hope that helps.
        Best wishes to you, your husband and the whole family.
        Celia

  3. Sounds like you are back at it – good to hear. Love he nickname “goody two drops”. Doug is awaiting approval for his mmj card – in Illinois, it could take months or years. I could probably make him some “special brownies” in the old-fashioned way, but I don’t think it would have the same effect, and I lost my recipe about 30 years ago.
    -Brenda

    1. Hi Brenda,
      Nice seeing you here for a change.
      You like Goody Two Drops? I got a kick out of that when it entered my mind. My laughter woke the Octo up from his nap. When I was dabbling with the MMJ last December, I found the sweets not as effective. In addition, they tasted like grass – not that I’ve grazed on grass. I’d think Doug would have to eat a dozen or so brownies just to get a buzz. I’d rather spend energy on eating sushi. Anyway, MMJ definitely works to regain lost appetite. It does have medical basis. I’m a believer. I’m glad MMJ is available to cancer patients.
      Celia

  4. I loved reading this. This once-upon-a-time flower child is very interested in your experiences with MMJ, and wonders if it might have a role in my future – which also might include the TIGER-X trial. I’m on my way to Roswell Park next week to begin the evaluation process.

    1. p.s. Lucky you, living in CA. Here in NYS, the new MMJ regulations are being described as being about the strictest in the nation. While cancer is on the list of conditions for which MMJ can be prescribed, only 5 organizations will be licensed to grow and distribute MMJ, and they will have to pay $200,000 for a 2 year license. Looks like it will be a while before it’s available to patients here.

      1. Hello Anita,
        We both have Spanish names. If you are not Filipina, I know we’re cultural soulmates!
        I’m glad to hear that you enjoy this blog. I myself get a kick writing it. It works for everybody except for those without sense of humor.
        I assume you’re on Tarceva. If you are, yes, CO-1686 would be an option and the flower-child MMJ buds would be in your future if you lose your appetite. I have only used MMJ in two separate events. I don’t like taking things.
        Please update me on your Roswell Park visit.
        Best,
        Celia

  5. Once again, I enjoyed reading your blog. I can relate to the ‘sulfa’ experience ‘
    few years back. I felt like fading away slowly .. all because I wasn’t taking enough fluids and got so dehydrated..

    Anyhow, you are indeed a SURVIVOR , beating the odds is your specialty.
    More power to you, my friend !

    1. Hi Melda,
      I appreciate your greetings and sulfa story. Bruce had a similar episode with sulfa three months ago. That was when I realized very quickly that my role can change in a heartbeat from patient to caregiver!
      Thanks again.
      Celia

  6. Cheers to good health! Awesome blog. Who could ever think that writing about UTI can be very funny?
    Im UTI prone too. One good way to beat it is to drink at least 2 liters of water a day. Still haven’t done it religiously but I do it when I can feel some symptoms.
    Keep on writing!

    1. I appreciate your dropping by. It took a bite out of your Facebook time!
      I drink a lot of fluids, too. A friend of mine used to have UTI a lot and I mean a lot. She started taking probiotics and she has not had UTI since. Read her comment above. Her name is Amy Deutsch. We learn from one another.
      Thanks for the nice words about my post.

  7. Celia, Your blog is so entertaining, I had to read it twice in a row!! You have the gift of a storyteller
    . I am glad to hear of your milestone, and your renewed health and vigor. You definitely lead the lot of us in our shared journey. I am thrilled to hear of your blood sugar normalizing without medication; such a mystery. Our bodies are amazing.
    Congratulations on your blog nomination too, which you most certainly deserve the honor.
    The best news was saved till near the end; you said ” I feel great” Hallelujah!!!!!!!!!!!
    Take care.
    Sharon

    1. Dear Sharon,
      I can’t believe my blood glucose (BG) normalizing after the reboot. As of today, it’s still good. Can you imagine going from Metformin 2000mg to 0? And I have been testing my BG every 30 minutes! It happens when one gets a lot of those lancets and testers for free!
      I hope you don’t have to deal with the BG issue. Being a nurse you know high BG causes weight loss. Your figure is perfect already.
      Celia

  8. Hi Celia,
    I had been absent from FB for months now, but happy Easter Sunday made it happen. I always enjoy reading your post. Happy you are nominated and recipient of the “lovely blog award.” You’re doing great on your trials and getting well from that lung cancer and the recent UTI. You are always an inspiration to all of us. God’s blessings always. Take care, Rae

    1. Dear Rae,
      Thanks for thinking about me and reading my blog. That makes my day. I don’t do Facebook regularly myself. I just peek occasionally to check on everybody.
      See you here or there.
      Celia

Leave a comment